1892 Maryland Agricultural College fields its first football team.
Oct. 5, 1940 Terps take on Penn in the first commercially televised college football game.
1951 Terps finish third in AP Poll after undefeated season.
Jan. 1, 1952
#3 Maryland upsets #1 Tennessee, 28-13, in the Sugar Bowl.
Nov. 30, 1953 Maryland wins National Championship.
Bernie Faloney awarded first-ever ACC Player of the Year.
Oct. 19, 1957 Queen of England attends her first-ever American Football game as the Terps defeat UNC, 21-7.
Sept. 23, 1961 Terps become first college football team to put player surnames on the back of their jerseys.
1963 Maryland’s Darryl Hill becomes first African-American football player in the ACC.
1975-76 Maryland wins three consecutive ACC titles for the first time ever.
Jan. 28, 1975
Randy White is selected second overall by the Dallas Cowboys in the NFL Draft, becoming the highest player ever drafted from Maryland.
Oct. 29, 1983 Boomer Esiason throws a pair of second half touchdowns to lead Maryland past #3 UNC, 28-26, helping the Terps win their first of three straight ACC Championships.
Nov. 10, 1984 Maryland, led by Frank Reich, completes the greatest comeback in college football history, defeating Miami, 42-40.
1985 Terps finish undefeated in the ACC, win third consecutive conference title.
July 27, 1991 Stan Jones becomes the first Maryland football player to be enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.
2001 National Coach of the Year, Ralph Friedgen, leads Maryland to Conference Championship and Orange Bowl berth.
Dec. 13, 2002 E.J. Henderson receives the Chuck Bednarik Award and Butkus Award, recognizing him as the nation's best defensive player and linebacker.
Dec. 31, 2002
Maryland dominates Tennessee in 30-3 win in Peach Bowl.
2003 Steve Suter sets ACC records with four punt returns for touchdowns and 771 punt return yards.
Jan. 1, 2004 Scott McBrien throws for a career-high 381 yards and 3 TDs to lead Maryland to a 41-7 victory over West Virginia in the Gator Bowl.
Sept. 8, 2011 Terps emerge from locker room unveiling Pride uniforms in home opener, go on to beat Miami 32-24 in front of 52,875 fans.
July 1, 2014 Terps officially join Big Ten Conference.
Sept. 27, 2014 Terps rout Indiana, 37-15, to pick up the program's first-ever Big Ten Conference win.
Dec. 2, 2015 DJ Durkin becomes 36th head football coach in program history.